LMP News, June 5, 2017

June 5, 2017

Eckfeldt to receive Medical School Faculty Mentor Award

John Eckfeldt has been named winner of the 2017 Medical School Carole J. Bland Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award. The award recognizes faculty who serve as role models, promote the professional development of others, and create a supportive, positive working environment.  It was created through the generosity of Bland’s family and friends to honor her and to underscore the commitment of the Medical School to promote mentoring among faculty.  The award will be presented at the Medical School Promotion and Tenure reception on Thursday, June 15 at 4:30 p.m. at the Weisman Art Museum. For full story visit our website at https://www.pathology.umn.edu/

Support LMP faculty in Chainbreaker event

As of today seven LMP faculty will ride in the Chainbreaker Ride for Cancer research August 11-13:  Danni Li, Scott Dehm, Bartosz Grzywacz, Yoji Shimizu, Brooks Jackson, Kaylee Schwertfeger and Christopher Pennell.  Please donate and support these riders at https://chainbreakerride.org/riders/  You can do a search by their names.   It literally takes 2 minutes to donate!   You can still be a rider!  To register for this event go to https://chainbreakerride.org/register/   All funds will go to cancer research at the U of M. 

Ernst award winners announced

Over 17 abstracts and 7 papers were submitted for consideration of this year’s Ernst Award.  The 2017 winners are:

  • Best CP non-fellow Abstract - Amy Beckman, “Evaluation of an Automated PCR/Nucleic Acid Microarray-Based Platform for Enteric Pathogen Testing” Mentor: Pat Ferrieri, oral presentation at ACLPS 2017
  • Best AP non-fellow Abstract - Maryam Shahi, “Correlation of Cytomorphologic Features and Mutational Profile of Thyroid Nodules with Indeterminate Cytologic Diagnosis” Mentor: Khalid Amin, oral presentation at USCAP 2017
  • Best fellow Abstract - Lisa Johnson, “Comparison of LeadCare Ultra® to ICP-MS as an initial screen for blood lead levels." Mentor: Amy Karger. Poster presentation at AACC.
  • Best Paper - Miro Sekulic - "Kidney Biopsy Yield An Examination of Influencing Factors."  Mentor: Gretchen Crary (HCMC).  Published in the American Journal of Surgical Pathology

The Ernst award was established in 1977 by Thomas and Freda Turner to honor Kenneth F. Ernst who was Turner’s colleague and mentor while serving in the Army.  Ernst was a graduate of the U of M Medical School and specialized in pathology.

Ovarian Cancer Early Detection Program featured

Amy Skubitz is the director of the Ovarian Cancer Early Detection Program recently featured in a May issue of Mpls.StPaul magazine.  The program was cited for research into the discovery and validation of biomarkers for the early detection of ovarian cancer.  For more:  http://mspmag.com/health-and-fitness/empowering-a-change/   Related to this story, Skubitz also received a two year grant for $200,000 from the Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance for her research on the validation of biomarkers for the early detection of ovarian cancer.

Thame is visiting scholar in hematopathology

Jennifer Thame, hematologist at the National Public Health Laboratory in Kingston, Jamaica will be a visiting scholar for three months in hematopathology funded through an award from the American Society of Hematology.  Thame will become a medical director of a new flow cytometry lab at her hospital on her return.  See her photo below with Bartosz Grzywacz in flow cytometry. 

Alumni receive award

Two LMP alumni, Jess Peterson and Charanjeet Sing, won the ASCP’s 40-under-forty award.  This program recognizes 40 ASCP members under the age of 40 for their achievements and leadership qualities that have an impact on our specialty.   Peterson was a molecular genetic pathology fellow from 2011-12 and Singh was an AP/CP resident and hematopathology fellow from 2009-2013.  Here is the link to the program https://www.ascp.org/content/40-under-forty

MPG Great Idea Awards are Due June 14

Division of Molecular Pathology and Genomics members are invited to submit applications for a Great Idea Award worth $5,000.  More information is on line at the MPG webpage. https://www.pathology.umn.edu/molecular-pathology-and-genomics  Decisions on the awards will be made at the MPG division meeting on June 21, noon-1:30 pm at the Campus Club. 

Research fund available for residents and fellows

Small research grants (maximum $2500) are available for residents and fellows. The next deadline is June 15.  A faculty committee reviews and awards the grants.  For more information go to this page on our website and review “Application Details”: https://www.pathology.umn.edu/residency-fellowships/residency/research-experience

Reminder:  Medical School offers publication workshop

The Path to Publication workshop will be offered by the Medical School on Monday, June 12 from 12:30 – 4:30 pm at the McNamara Alumni Center (Oak and Washington).  This is a really good workshop for faculty with minimal to moderate experience in writing for peer-reviewed journals.  Register here:  https://goo.gl/tvU1AA


LMP website: http://www.pathology.umn.edu/ 

LMP faculty google site: https://sites.google.com/a/umn.edu/lmp/

Grand Rounds videos: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHSc0zfvq6SUnNvDQI6oLwA

Jennifer & Bartok